School

School History

Our lovely Victorian school was built in 1877 however has come a long way since  then.  The main body of the school building is still used, although the Headmaster’s House (which was attached to the school) no longer provides a home for the Head Teacher but is an office, staff room and Head Teacher’s office instead.  Over the years the school has been extended and the main building now comprises three classrooms, the main school hall, toilets, ICT area and resources room – quite a change from when all the pupils were taught in rows in the school hall all those years ago!

Changes have happened in the school grounds too:  a swimming pool has been and gone, the playground now boasts brightly coloured markings, we have a pond and a polytunnel to name but a few.

There have been two books written about the history of our school – the first by a previous Headmaster, Mr David Brown, entitled ‘The First 100 Years’ which covers 1877 – 1977 and the second which was a follow up project in 2002 by the then Headmistress, Miss Sara Griffiths, and her class which covered the following 25 years up to 2002 – perhaps in 2027 there could be a third?

Shebbear Community School’s Ethos

  • To provide a caring environment where all pupils can fulfil their own potential.
  • To provide a range of opportunities and experiences across the curriculum.
  • To ensure pupils are involved in reflecting upon their own practice and understand the next steps in their learning.
  • To celebrate achievements and progress in all areas of school life.
  • To have a clear focus on raising standards across the school.
  • To ensure that self evaluation is given a high priority, both for individuals and the school as a whole.
  • To ensure staff, governors, parents and carers are committed to school improvement.
  • To continue to greatly value our good links with the local community.